Christmas biscuits baking orgy!

First of all I wish you a pleasant first Sunday of Advent! Have a lovely day and don’t forget to light the first candle on your Advent wreath!

Yesterday, Mum, my godmother, her daughter and I threw a little biscuit baking party. We baked and baked and decorated and decorated for 8 hours. 8 hours! It was sooo much fun! (Although I hadn’t slept a lot the night before – I had an awesome Friday night for the first time in weeks.)

Now lean back and enjoy the cookie show!

These were our first batch of biscuits: Actually, they are called Dipped Pumpernickel in the recipe,

but because in the end, they look like this, we called them Chestnuts.

Chocolatey, chocolatey!

We also made Cinnamon Stars!

These ones are sooo good! They’re the best biscuits we made. I love them.

Who’s next? Oooh, Linzer Augen (Linzer Eyes/Biscuits). Yummy.

Filled with red currant jam and topped with almonds. Mmmmhm. The dough had a fine lemon taste. With the same dough as base, we made Nougat Loops.

The have a biscuit base, a nougat core and a whole milk chocolate topping with almonds. Hefty, I know.

We also used the inner parts of the loops to create something special – out of these little baby biscuits

we made these tasty Nougat Bits.

They are perfect for one bite. Simi and I saved them from being chocolate-covered – that would have been too much.

No, the show’s not over yet. There is still one kind of biscuits left.

We tried out the funny biscuit press I showed you. And… it didn’t work out quite well. Have a look at our ..uhm.. special Piped Biscuits.

Pay attention to the lips/ski-shaped biscuits on the right – hand-shaped by me, haha!

You see, I had a lovely weekend. Today’s the first Sunday of Advent and my Dad’s birthday (Happy Birthday, Dad!) and I’m in a really good mood. How can I not be with boxes full of tasty biscuits?  Particularly when they’re made with so much love.😉

(UPDATE: You can now find the recipe for the Cinnamon Stars in the recipe index!)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michael
    Nov 29, 2009 @ 16:36:11

    delicious!
    check out my food blog and tell me what you think:
    http://thegodscake.wordpress.com

    Michael

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Snow. Candles. Biscuits. « I really take the cake…

Leave a comment!

