Take a break – take a cookie.

Yesterday, I helped painting a wall in the flat in which one of my best friends just moved in. It’s incredible! Really beautiful. I love painting walls and I was really curious how the flat looked like, so I loved to help. We painted the wall, her boyfriend and another friend built up some shelves. For the hard workers, I brought Vanilla Chocolate Chip Cookies

And they were needed! We had to paint the wall three times before it wasn’t blotchy anymore. I was there from 4 pm to half past midnight. (Okay, in between we had pizza and watched a movie. And we had to drive to the hardware store because we ran out of masking tape.)
I was glad they liked the cookies. These cookies are not your usual chunky cookies, they’re more crunchy. They have exactly the same consistency like those Ikea chocolate orange cookies. So make them, if you like the Ikea cookies, do not, if you don’t! You’ll find the recipe at the very end of the post. (Yes, I finally decided to just take the recipe in with the post.)

Well. You know what I’m really bad at? Cooking rice. I know, people always tell me cooking rice is easy – but it isn’t! It’s just not. I’m useless at it. Once, I made rice, and it turned out like that: At the bottom of the pot, it was burnt and crunchy, in the middle, it was okay, and at the top, it was crunchy because it was still uncooked. This week, I made rice that turned into risotto – but it should have been Basmati. Well. Normally, I don’t like risotto (it’s too creamy and slimy for me), but this one turned out to be quite good (maybe, because it was Basmati rice) – I put in carrots and peas and stirred in a teaspoon of cottage cheese. That’s a risotto after my fancy.

(Yes, that’s a Barbapapa bowl. I love it.)

Do you know coffee jam? My grandma made wild-berry coffee jam last year. It’s perfect for breakfast. She just stirred real coffee in. That’s why it’s more liquid then normal jam, but I love that. I love to have a Grandma that makes jam – even when she always gives me way too much. I have so much jam at home I could eat jam for breakfast, lunch and dinner. And I get more every time I visit. You know how it’s like to say No to your Grandma, don’t you? I can’t do that. So, I could have a bread like this for breakfast (and lunch and dinner) every day.


If it wouldn’t be a bit unhealthy in the long run, maybe I would.

So, here’s the cookie recipe – in grams. (I hope that’s okay, but maybe there’s someone out there without measuring cups, just like me, and is happy about it.) (You can also find it in my recipe index.)

Vanilla Chocolate Chip Cookies
(adapted from Schokolade by Zabert/Sandmann)

Click for the German Version

160 g chocolate or chocolate chips (take what you want, I always take 100 g dark and about 60 g milk chocolate)
100 g butter at room-temperature
50 g sugar
90 g brown sugar
1 sachet of vanilla sugar (you could also scratch out one vanilla bean or use some vanilla extract)
1 egg
95 g flour (I always use spelt flour)
80 g grated nuts (use hazelnuts or almonds)
1 level teaspoon baking powder

Preheat the oven to 180° Celsius. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper and set aside.
If you don’t use chocolate chips (I don’t), chop the chocolate. Mix the butter with the sugar until it’s smooth. Add the egg and mix again.
In another bowl, mix the egg with the nuts and the baking powder. Then slowly incorporate the flour mixture until thoroughly combined. Stir in the chocolate, but set some aside.
With two teaspoons, scoop onto parchment-lined baking sheets. If you want to make bigger cookies, 10 per sheet (they will be about 20 cookies in the end), but most of the time, I make smaller ones, about 40, so 20 per sheet. Put the rest of the chocolate on top. Bake for about 10 minutes until they’re evenly brown, then put the sheets out of the oven and let them rest.

I also often melt 20 g of the dark chocolate and mix it with the butter – makes tasty Dark Double Chocolate Cookies!

Let me know if you try them!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jewllori
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 01:09:35

    YUMMY FOOD! Are you from Germany!? Just a guess with your baking pics and talks of Quark. I was in Germany for a while about two years ago..loved it. Miss the Bakery’s!!!

    Reply

    • musketnuss
      Feb 02, 2010 @ 11:42:45

      Thanks! No, I’m from Austria – big difference, haha. (Actually, we don’t even call it Quark here, it’s called “Topfen”, but I suppose more people understand Quark.😉 )

      Reply

Leave a comment!

