Sugar and Spice for Dad

In Austria, today’s Father’s Day.
Since my parents came home only yesterday, I had enough time to bake my present for Dad: a Linzer Tart.

You don’t know Linzer Tart? Oh, you miss something. It’s an Austrian speciality (Linz is the capital of Upper Austria) made of pie crust with spices and nuts and red currant jam. Sounds like a treat for winter, but it’s baked the whole year round.

With this pie that the whole family loves, we had an awesome breakfast today. Mum helped me set the breakfast table on the balcony.

On the balcony! Within a week, it has got so hot here in Vienna that I have to sleep with windows opened. The pools are full of people frizzling in the sun. The underground trains are full of people that look like going to the beach – the heat came so quick that we had no time to get used to it. Now it’s kind of too hot. But the sun is really, really nice – I love getting up when it’s so bright outside.

Also, now finally the fruits get really good. Look at those strawberries we also had for breakfast.

They smell so good. They taste so good. They’re fresh from Lower Austria. (The nicest province of Austria, haha.)

Before, you could see my self-made card lying on the table. In it is a poem (I know, it’s like in Kindergarten, but I don’t care) which is also a voucher for Dad. You can see him reading in the background.

The voucher says I’ll clean the kitchen for him three times after he cooked – I know how he hates that. And I know how he likes Linzer Tart. (But Mum gave me that idea unintentionally, actually.)

So, we ate the pie. Piece by piece. (And the strawberries.)

Happy Father’s Day, Dad!

Later, we’ll have a barbecue and grill whole trouts. Uuuh, I’m so looking forward to that. (But I hope Dad doesn’t use his voucher right away – cleaning the grill?!)

(UPDATE: I’ve now added the recipe for the yummy Linzer Tart in the recipe index.)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cupcakes and cashmere
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 15:32:42

    wow, how gorgeous!

    my lip color is by maybelline and it’s called ‘coral crush.’ x

    Reply

  2. Rikke Hass Christensen
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 16:38:15

    Love your strawberry shot, Stephanie, it’s lovely and bright colours🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment!

