It’s definitely time for soup.

When I look out of the window, I see white. When I look at my thermometer, I see it’s -8°C outside. That means, it’s definitely time for soup.

For example, pumpkin soup.

It’s so easy to make. Just chop some onions and a Hokkaido pumpkin.

I love Hokkaido because of the colour and the fact that you don’t have to peel it. I also like to add one or two small potatoes and two or three carrots.

Just braise the onions, add the vegetables, pour vegetable soup over that, let it cook until soft, puree all of it and add the spices. I use of course salt and pepper, but I also never leave out a little bit of ginger and nutmeg.

If you want, you could put some cream in the soup, but mine has a great consistency without it most of the time – I don’t use a lot of water to cook the pumpkin because we like it really creamy. But what we also like is putting a dash of pumpkin seed oil in the soup just before eating it. (That’s the black liquid you can see in the photo. It’s a Styrian speciality and tastes great to a lot of things.)

But I also love other soups. Essential is that there are vegetables in it. Such as carrots, celery or kohlrabi.

And not to be forgotten, broccoli.

Oooh, I love broccoli. And now imagine a steaming soup out of all that.

(Steaming soups are hard to picture.)

Yummy. No wonder I always (really, always) burn my tongue.

Do you fancy hot soup now? I do. Enjoy! And don’t forget to put some herbs on top – That’s what makes it perfect.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Pretty. Good. Food.
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 01:55:03

    Yum! Great sounding soup, perfect for these chilly winter nights :)!

    Reply

Leave a comment!

