Criss Cross.

Last week, my Mum told me that a very dear friend of her was really happy about my Peanut Butter Pine Nut Biscotti because she misses baked goods with peanut butter so much. And this was the reason for me to finally bake the cookies I wanted to bake for weeks: Peanut Butter Criss Crosses.

(The recipe is adapted from here and here. Thank you!) (Deutsche Version)

Makes 48 cookies.

1 + 1/4 cups flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

a pinch of salt

a pinch of nutmeg

1 stick / 8 tablespoons butter

1/2 cup peanut butter

1/2 cup demerara sugar

1/4 cup sugar

1 egg

3/4 cups chopped salted peanuts

extra: about 1/4 cup of sugar

Preheat the oven to 180° Celsius / 350° Fahrenheit and prepare two baking sheets with parchment paper. (I only had two baking sheets, if you have three, prepare all of them.)

Whisk all the dry ingredients together. (Yum. I love the smell of nutmeg.)
In a separate bowl, beat the butter with your mixer until creamy. Add the peanut butter and beat again. Add the sugars and beat again, and in the end, add the egg and beat again.
Then, add the dry ingredients and the peanuts and mix until they’re just incorporated.

I had those little baby peanut packages at home. They’re lovely. I read you don’t need to use the peanuts. And if you use them, you don’t really need to chop them if you like it more crunchy. But I used and chopped them.

Pour the extra sugar into a soup plate. For each cookie, take about one tablespoon of cookie dough, roll a ball with your hands and roll those balls in the sugar.

Put those balls on the baking sheets. I put 16 cookie balls on each sheet with some space in between (4 x 4) and that was perfect because they didn’t stick together after baking.

So when you rolled a sheet full of sugary balls, you can criss-cross them. Take a fork and press them on each cookie ball. Criss.

Cross.

And then, put the sheets full of criss crossed cookies in the oven for about 8-10 minutes.

I only put in one sheet and while the cookies baked, I prepared the other one. I needed to put in three sheets full of cookies.
Watch how browned their downside is, when you think they’re ready! They’re still very soft when their downside is golden brown and they’re finished. So let them cool out a bit before transferring them to a plate.

But then, you can build cookie towers.

I wanted really peanutty cookies and I found them. And I hope that’s what Mum’s friend likes, too. Enjoy!

Leave a comment!

