An Oven on My Own.

I love my oven. It can do everything. Like bread.

(Deutsche Version.)

But I have to admit, I didn’t do it all by myself. Because I had help. Kitchen machine help!

Yes, that’s right. It’ a kitchen machine. It’s mine for two months. And until now I thought I didn’t need something like that because: “I can knead on my own.” Yes, I love to knead yeast dough. But bread dough? The kitchen machine kneads bread dough and there’s no dough sticking on my fingers! That awesome. It kneads and kneads and I can watch the dough changing. It’s like TV.

But all the stuff you put in the dough, you have to weigh on yourself. I’m sorry for the gramme measurements, but when baking bread, that’s definitely better.
For this bread, you need sourdough. I already elaborated sourdough and sourdough bread here. I can tell you, it’s worth reading the explanation – It’s only difficult at first.

Because when you have sourdough, you can bake all kinds of bread. Like Stone Oven Bread. (It’s called like that, even when you don’t have a stone oven. I found the recipe in German here.)

400 g sourdough (rye)
375 g rye flour
375 g whole wheat flour
400 ml water
2 teaspoons salt
1 heaped teaspoon bread seasoning
1 teaspoon sugar
optional: a bit of yeast (If your sourdough isn’t so strong.)

Mix all of it together thoroughly – Add the water at last, but don’t put all of it in at once.
Let the dough sit for half an hour – Then shape a loaf of bread an put it in a pot or bowl laid-out with a floured dishtowel to let it rise for 2 hours. If you have a dough basket, use it. I’ve got two for my two months!!

Oh yes, I love this kitchen.

Well, let’s move on. After waiting 2 hours or more, preheat your oven to 240° C (460° F). Put the dough loaf on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and bake it for 10 minutes. Spray water on it in between to get a nice crust.
After those 10 minutes, reduce the temperature to 200° C (390° F) and bake for another 45-50 minutes.

Look if it’s nicely browned everywhere, and when it is, try if it’s done by knocking on the bottom side – If you get a hollow sound, your bread is ready to come out of the oven.

It’s a nice bread – But you can’t eat it all on yourself. So slice it up and bring it to people you love.

You can also put some slices in the freezer to have a slice of bread whenever you want one.

There’s a lot of other things my oven can do. Like grilled zucchini. Perfect with bread. And olive oil.

Super easy: Just cut a zucchini in thin slices, drizzle them with olive oil, put herbs and salt on them and put them under the oven grill until they’re nicely browned.  Oh yummy!

And there’s more!

Like my favourite chocolate muffins in the world. I’ve already posted the recipe here.

These were for a friend’s birthday – She’s really into chocolate and she wanted to dive in those muffins after trying one. So she got a whole bunch.

Oh yes, she was happy.
By the way, my kitchen machine also helped with the muffins. I love my kitchen. Everything works in it. And everything’s yummy. This is what makes me happy.

(And I just realised that my chocolate muffins fit in the Aspiring Bakers topic of the month: Chocolate Delight! Again! I always make things that are fitting in unintentionally. So, I want to submit this post to Aspiring Bakers #7 – Chocolate Delight (May 2011) hosted by DG from Tested and Tasted! You can find all the rules and so on here.)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. DG
    May 17, 2011 @ 14:19:17

    Beautiful fluffy chocolate muffins! Your friend is lucky to have you to give her a bunch of yummy chocolate muffins🙂 Thanks for sharing the recipe.

    Reply

Leave a comment!

