Pumpkin Love. Pumpkin Bake.

My love for pumpkin will never fade. I’m always happy at the beginning of pumpkin season and I make as much use of that season as I can. This week, I tried Pumpkin Bake.

And oh, it was great. (Deutsche Version.)

Here you can find the German recipe. If you don’t understand it, I’ll translate it for you – And I’ll add what I changed. For this recipe, you have to grate pumpkin. And that’s definitely not nice work. But you know what I’ve got at home? A Moulinette – Which is a little kitchen machine that chops and mixes and grates stuff. So I just had to roughly dice about 500 g of a Hokkaido pumpkin

…and my little machine grated it.

Also, chop 2 onions and add it to the pumpkin.

Then, beat 3 eggs and crumble in 150-200 g feta cheese. (I took 200 g because I don’t like to have small leftovers.)

Stir it in the grated pumpkin. Season with salt and pepper.

Grease a casserole dish with olive oil and fill the pumpkin mix in.

I had this lovely leek in my fridge, so I topped it with that.

Bake in a preheated oven with 200° C for about 1 hour.

When baked, the top is a bit crunchy and the leek crispy. But the inside is so soft and moist.

Makes 2-3 servings. For good and hungry eaters definitely 2. But I’m never that hungry when I cooked, so for me: 3. One to eat immediately. One for work. And one for the freezer.

And oh, I can tell you, this pumpkin bake is awesome when re-heated! There are dishes I am definitely sure they get better when re-heated. This pumpkin bake. Mum’s lasagna. Dad’s goulash.
But anyway. I’ll definitely make this bake again. And re-heat it again. Yum.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Littleskew
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 16:47:30

    I must say that I have never tried pumpkin, but this looks delicious… maybe next halloween when I hollow out a pumpkin I will give it a go… seems a waste to just throw it.

    Thanks for sharing🙂

    Reply

  2. mmasters
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 17:48:34

    this looks fantastic! i can’t wait to try it!

    Reply

Leave a comment!

