Fresh. Frozen. Focaccine.

I’m looking ahead to a week of hours and hours and hours of university. So I prepared Focaccine. Little folded pizzas. Perfect to go.

I’m pretty sure you won’t find any frozen pizza in the grocery store which is as tasty as those little gems. (Deutsche Version.)

I found the original recipe here. But actually, I only prepared half of the really nice and smooth dough with dry yeast instead of fresh one, made my own filling and left out the garlic oil. (Which I am sure is really good, but who wants to smell like garlic at university?)

For the dough, you need:

250 g wheat dough
150 g cold water
1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil
3-4 g dry yeast
7 g salt

Knead a normal yeast dough. I do that by hand – I know some people use the mixer, but I don’t. Papa taught me to knead yeast dough and I do that and it’s always great. Let it rise for about 3 hours. (Punch it down in between.)
Divide it in 4 to 5 dough balls and let them rise again for some minutes.

Roll every single dough ball out and top it with everything you like on pizza. I made two different toppings. But you always need tomato sauce and oregano.

Wouldn’t be a pizza without it.

And then, how about tomatoes and mozzarella?

Really simple.
But this is my favourite: Spinach.

And feta. And, really important, freshly grated pepper.

And olives, of course.

I already told you about the best pizza in this world here. But now the best of all pizzas is a sandwich – Brilliant!

Now, you can fold your focaccine.

Oh, and preheat your oven to 200° C. (390° F)

Brush the focaccine with olive oil.

And then, bake them. For about 15 minutes until pretty and brown.

That’s it. Unfortunately, I can’t show you the baked inside because after cooling, I immediately froze them. Now they are waiting to be my yummy packed lunch. And that’s how you can make yourself look forward to a long day of university courses.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Una voz en el silencio
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 00:01:35

    Reblogged this on " Una Voz en el Silencio ".

    Reply

  2. IamSimplyTia
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 03:12:48

    Beautiful job on these…they look just amazing.

    Reply

Leave a comment!

