Sweethearts.

Tomorrow, it’s Valentine’s Day – And that’s why I made Sugar Sugar Hearts.

The recipe is, again, from Joy the Baker and you can find it here on her blog. Thank you!

(Deutsche Version.)

Because we’re all working on Monday, we chose to have Valentine’s Day today. (Can you just do that? We can.) I’m not that into Valentine’s Day, but it’s a nice excuse to make chocolatey, sweet and heart-shaped cookies for my loved ones. And those cookies are really chocolatey and sweet.
They are called Sugar Sugar Hearts – So there IS sugar in them.
Brown sugar

and white sugar.

And sugar to sprinkle! That’s what I call Sweethearts.

So let’s do it!

For about 32 cookies, you need:

1 cup whole grain flour (I used whole spelt)

1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons flour

1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons cocoa powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1 stick butter

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup sugar

1 egg

additional: granulated sugar

optional: Nutella

And this is what you do:

In a bowl, mix the flour, cocoa powder, salt and baking powder – Set aside.
In another bowl, beat the butter and the sugars with your mixer until creamy. Add the egg and beat again. Then, add the dry ingredients and mix until all of the flour is incorporated.

Now, scrape all of the dough out of the bowl, wrap it in plastic foil and put it in the fridge for at least 2 hours.
Don’t eat the dough. Listen. I know it tastes great, but: Do. Not. Eat. It. You want to make cookies, right?

After those long two hours, in which you have already prepared two baking sheets and lined them with parchment paper and turned on your oven to 180° C/350 ° F,  put out your dough.
Take half of it and use a floured rolling pin to roll it out on a floured surface. (Maybe you have to knead it a bit before, but don’t take too long because otherwise it will be very sticky!) It should be about half a centimetre thick.
Use a cookie cutter to cut out hearts. (Of course, you have to do the same with the other half of the dough – Roll it out until there’s no more dough.)

When you have a whole baking sheet full of dough hearts

brush them lightly with water and sprinkle them generously with sugar.

And now, put them in the oven for about 10 minutes.

After those 10 minutes (or less, if you have my magic oven), put out your crunchy chocolatey sugar hearts and let them cool on the baking sheet.

And if you want (I did), sprinkle them with sugar again while they’re still warm.

To make it even sweeter, I had the idea to put Nutella in between some of them.

But actually, I’m not really fond of that idea. That’s a bit too much sweetness. So those two sandwich cookies were the only ones I made – They’re chilling in the fridge now and I’m quite sure my brother, the Nutella-addict, will like them.

And the rest is to be eaten pure. Sweethearts for the sweethearts.

Have a lovely Valentine’s Day!

PS: This post, I would like to submit to Aspiring Bakers. You can find the host of the month HERE – I’ve never submitted a post before. But that’s such a lovely theme! What’s more fitting for February than hearts? I found Aspiring Bakers just some weeks ago and hope, I can submit more of my posts in near future.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ellena
    Feb 27, 2011 @ 10:36:08

    These cookies look great for afternoon tea. and the one who received these will be sooo blessed 🙂 Thanks for joining us.

    Reply

Leave a comment!